RootsTech 2014

Mocavo

Some people eat, sleep and chew gum, I do genealogy and write...

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Leveraging the Power of "We" a webinar

Michael Ritchey of FamilySearch is presenting a webinar called Leveraging the Power of "We": a Watershed Event in Discovering Where to Find Your Ancestors. Quoting from the description of the webinar:
Today we're experiencing a watershed event in genealogy: the rapid publication of our ancestors' original records online. The pace of digitization and the number of organizations doing it is constantly increasing. That presents a challenge. As genealogists, it is very difficult for us to keep up with all the new records being made available online. We need some way to keep up with the availability of new records so that we can be constantly aware of the best sources to use and how to use them. That need is sparking another watershed event: a movement to leverage the Power of We. All of us learn new things about record availability and methodology. Why not share this knowledge with others who need it? This webinar is about how we as a genealogical community can join forces, leverage the Power of We, and use the Wiki and Forums at FamilySearch.org as tools to provide the research guidance all of us need.
Michael is easily one of the most knowledgeable and vocal advocates of the FamilySearch Research Wiki and can give meaningful insights into this vast resource. His webinar is presented by Geoff Rasmussen of Millennia Software, the developers of the Legacy Family Tree program. Check out the link above for more information but the webinar will be held on Wednesday, July 6, 2011 at 2:00 PM Eastern (U.S.) 1:00 PM Central, 12:00 PM Mountain, 11:00 AM Pacific/Arizona, 6:00 PM, GMT.

No comments:

Post a Comment